{5} Years

Standard

My first son turned FIVE this week! I can’t believe it’s been five years since we went into the hospital as a couple and came out parents. Five years since I was shocked that they would let me go home with that little life, five years that we’ve been learning how to be a family together, five years of seeing the Lord growing Luke from a tiny baby into a strong, smart, funny boy.

IMG_7088

We were so blessed to get to celebrate this birthday with family and friends! Luke really enjoys the Richard Scarry Busytown books, so we had a Busytown Birthday. I had so much fun setting it up for him!

IMG_7102 IMG_7100We had animal masks for the boys and their friends, along with birthday bunting, a cardboard and peg people Busytown, and a sneaky Goldbug hiding all over the house.

IMG_7114Luke and his friends played outside. Turns out soccer is even better with animal masks! IMG_7107 They colored and hunted Goldbug, and laughed and enjoyed hotdogs and dirt cake. We are so very thankful for these young friends! We are also so thankful that Grammy and Grandpa got to come celebrate with us. What a blessing to get to share our joy together!

IMG_7116Grandaddy and Mumsi skyped from across the ocean to wish Luke a happy birthday, and he was so happy to talk to them, and very thankful for his new cowboy stuff!

IMG_7144

IMG_7147Luke ended his birthday exploring his new legos and enjoying time with our family.

IMG_7139

Luke is a wonderful big brother, he loves Levi and adores Anna. He is fast-moving and busy. He likes to be using his mind whether that’s in building something “ingenious” or doing a puzzle or learning letters and counting. He is certainly not lazy! He has been growing a lot recently in obeying and likes to help me with cleaning or putting away the dishes. He is a great memorizer! I’m always amazed at how quickly he can tuck something away in his memory! He loves spaghetti, his blankie, reading, working with Daddy, and going places or seeing friends.

Somehow, five seems like such a BIG number! Like my Luke is all of a sudden a big boy. It’s a hard reality to wrap my mind around, really. He is so precious to me, and it is such a joy to watch him learning and growing. I can get to caught up in the busy, and the crazy energy and the million questions that the days fly past, and all of sudden, he’s five and reading and riding a bike, and BIG! Some days and seasons have been really hard, but the Lord has been so gracious to bring us this far, and to teach our family so much of Himself, His forgiveness, and gracious provision!

 

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

