It’s a Real Garden

Standard

May GardenAfter many years of interesting attempts container gardening, we have an actual, in the ground garden. I am so thankful for our yard! It’s not huge, so we picked out a corner for a raised bed. It’s 3 ft x 8 ft and get shade in the late afternoon, which is really good because of how blazing hot it gets here in the summer.

IMG_4541

We all have had a blast leveling the ground, building the raised bed, adding the soil, planning and planting. We used a mixture of compost and expanded shale for the soil, and so far it seems to be supporting the plants very well. The boys loved the digging and dirt preparation, and now they like going to check on the garden, and love eating the spinach and herbs that we’ve been able to enjoy already. We have three tomato plants, one poor little cucumber, one zuchinni, some spinach, carrots, cilantro, basil, oregano, and thyme.

IMG_4545

The tomatoes and zuchinni have blooms on them! Yay! I cannot wait to eat some of those tomatoes with some fresh basil.

We’ve learned a few things that I want to remember:

  1. Never, ever plant before Easter (in our area). The weather is going to get nice, and I’m for sure going to want to plant things, but just don’t! We planted all our plants a few weeks before Easter, and one very cold night found us outside trying to protect the little seedlings. And that didn’t even work, so we had to replant some things.
  2. Cucumbers, while one of my favorite salad ingredients, are awfully persnickety plants.
  3. It’s really easy to over-water vegetables. It’s so funny that in wanting to care for the plants, I can be too attentive, and flood them out.
  4. The fickle-ness of the weather has reminded me that the Lord supplies all our needs, and that even though most of our food comes from a store, it is still His mercy that provides the rain for the farm-grown food.
About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

