I’ve Been Making Stuff {1}

Standard

All kinds of fun projects have (somehow) been appearing around my house. I’ve been having a trial trying to find clothes that I like and that are appropriate without spending a ton of time and money. So, I tried making some. And I’ve loved it! I don’t have a lot of time (obviously), so I don’t know how long this will continue. But I am enjoying it right now. My skills are pretty limited, but it’s really fun to try, and most of my mistakes can be fixed if I’m patient enough. I made a high-low skirt that I think is super fun! I used some of the instructions from this blog post, but made it a little less full and poofy. I really love this fabric, it’s light and airy and colorful!

Image

I also tried some more sewing with knits, and made a yoga-waistband skirt. Y’all, this is the easiest, and most comfy skirt. There are tons of tutorials all over the internet, but here’s the one I used.

An exciting facet of sewing clothes is that I can make MATCHING mama and girlie clothes! So baby girl got a super simple shift dress. I just kind of made the pattern for her dress up, using a onsie for the sizing around the neck. We wore our skirt and dress to church on Mother’s Day, and I had so much fun with my matching baby girl.

Image

For me, making stuff is so refreshing and satisfying, and then getting to wear and enjoy them is even better! I love that the Lord made me to be creative, and gives me opportunities to produce things that are useful and pretty.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

One response »

Leave a Reply

