Book Review~ Feminine Threads

Standard

This is the first book I’ve finished in quite some time. It takes me just a bit longer to read these days. Anyway, I enjoyed reading this history of women in the church by Dana Lynn Severance.

Feminine Threads reads almost like a history textbook, so I don’t think every reader would enjoy it, but I did. I like history, especially church history, and I always want to learn more about women of the faith. So this book’s content appealed to me a lot, even if the writing was more academic than engaging. I learned about a bunch of new women that I’d never heard of before, and about many different historical movements in Christianity. The learning was fun, but my heart was also encouraged to read of these women who loved Jesus and have gone before me.

I was encouraged to read of the steadfast faith of many martyrs, and of the Puritan understanding of the importance of family worship. My desire to stay home with my boys and raise them in the fear of the Lord was strengthened when I read of Victorian women who took their families to new, strange, and dangerous places hoping that the family would testify of the Gospel in cultures where family relationships obviously differed from what the Bible teaches. I live in a godless culture, and by choosing to honor my husband, and stay home to care for my boys, I can testify that I value what God values, that I have been changed by the Gospel from seeking my own way to seeking the good of others. This was a new, and so encouraging, perspective for me on how a Christ-centered family can be a tool for evangelism.

All in all, I’d recommend this book to you if you like history and aren’t daunted by a more factual writing style.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

