Recipe of the Week~ Grandma’s Brownies

Standard

I often just make brownies from a mix, but this week, I just wanted to make something yummy and familiar. This recipe has been passed down through my family. My grandma used to make them for school events when my mom was young, and when I was in boarding school and college, she would make a batch and send them to me. So I just love these brownies! And I’d like to share the recipe with you!

You need a 13×13 pan for this recipe, which is not a common size. I haven’t had success when I’ve tried it in a different size pan, but you might be able to adjust the temperature/cooking time, and make it work.

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 c. cocoa
  • 1 c. butter
  • 2 c. sugar
  • 4 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 c. flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 c. chopped pecans (I use 1 cup, and walnuts are okay too)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. Melt butter, and stir in cocoa and sugar. Beat eggs in mixing bowl, slightly, add chocolate mixture and beat well. Sift together baking powder, flour, and salt. Add to chocolate mixture and mix well, slowly at first. Add vanilla and nuts and stir in. Bake about 20-30 minutes or until flattened out and firm. Don’t overbake.

Icing

  • 2 c. powdered sugar
  • 2 rounded Tablespoons cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • a little milk

Mix dry ingredients well in a small pot. Add milk a little at a time. Make it creamy, but not runny. It does not take much. Melt over heat, stirring constantly. Add vanilla. Spread evenly over brownies while they’re still warm. Let cool as long as you can stand it before eating them!

 

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. I realize I am quite late in getting this message to you, but I wanted you to know that we really enjoyed getting to visit with all of you on our vacation! I am sorry that you felt bad and I appreciate you going out with us anyway!
    These brownies look really good by the way! We like to serve brownies warm, with vanilla ice cream on top!
    Love ya!
    Kimberly

Leave a Reply

