Book Review~ The Person of Christ

Standard

I started reading The Person of Christ by Donald Macleod before Christmas, and finally finished it this weekend. I enjoyed reading this book SO much! Macleod addressed several aspects of Jesus’ person, work, and character that I hadn’t really ever before thought on. I found myself marveling at my Savior repeatedly as I gained new understanding of the many intricacies of Christ. I was spurred on to read this book from a conversation with some good friends on how Jesus, as a human, had to learn some things. That just boggles my mind, and makes the condescension of the incarnation even more amazing. I also spent a lot of time, especially around Easter, considering, with awe, the suffering and death of my Redeemer.

This book is not scholarly, but it’s not easy, fluffy, reading either, which I liked. I could understand what he was saying, but I also had to think about it quite a bit. The writing is clear and engaging, and the content is rich. I so enjoyed pondering new depths of my Savior. I also enjoyed that the book is structured around the history of the understanding and study of Christ, and Macleod explains various positions on Jesus, and then points us to Jesus as the Bible reveals Him.

I will be reading at least some of the other books in this series, and probably will read this one again, which is quite a high recommendation from me. You should read it too!

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

