5 Minute Friday: On Distance

Standard

  This is a particularly poignant prompt (nice alliteration, huh?) for me today. I was just kind of waking up after a long night with boys who didn’t sleep well because of colds, when my phone rang, and my sister asked me if I had checked the news. One of the countries that we have lived in is enduring a war. I have grieved over that far away suffering, but also been thankful that my parents, although nearby, were in a relatively stable country.

But the news this morning told me something different, the army in that country was unhappy and had mutinied, shooting and looting in the city where my parents live. Moments like these ones are when I feel the distance, the ocean, the cultures, the prosperity, that separates the place I live from the one in which my parents serve. Most of my friends have never heard of the countries that are breaking my heart, and many of them have no idea what’s happening in them unless I share a prayer request.  That makes the distance seem so great and almost insurmountable.

But, skype! Really. I’m so thankful to the Lord for webcams and computer screens, and electricity that stays on when my family is trying to talk through these things. The distance is not to great for the Creator and Sustainer of all things, and he hold the heart of men in his hands.

This is a prompt from the Gypsy Mama. Go check out her blog, and the other Five Minute Friday posts.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

4 responses »

  1. Heartbreaking! I was watching some news clips the other day and seeing bloody children being carried by adults and it just left me with an ache. The young living in such fear and despair because of wickedness in adults.

    I’m so glad you were able to skype with your parents. I love modern communication and so thankful I have the connection to my distant family…not having to wait weeks or months for communication to arrive.

    Visiting from the linkup and appreciated reading your thoughts today.

  2. Of course I would find you, a daughter of Africa, on the Gypsy Mama’s page! It kind of made my heart sing. 🙂

    And yes–very nice alliteration. Keep that up and it will push up your AP scores.

    Cote d’Ivoire has been heart-wrenching. Burkina made my heart drop this morning. As hard as it is to be in the middle of the mess, some days it’s harder to watch it from afar.

    Love you!

  3. Beautiful to read, Rachel, and “heart drop” is a perfect description of my own reaction. God is so gracious to grant us peace in the midst of insecurity (for ourselves and our families).

  4. Rachel, you have expressed yourself so beautifully. I agree with Ruth, “heart drop” is a wonderful description. I am glad that your sisters are there, and can understand and you can support each other even if others cannot. And we are very grateful for Skype. Love you soooooo much.

Leave a Reply

