5 Minute Friday: Waking Up

Standard

I am a slow waker-upper. I guess my waking up begins when Bret’s alarm dings and he gets up. A little later, I hear footsteps pounding our old wooden floor to sit in the big brown chair and read the Bible with Daddy. And still, I’m mostly unconscious, curled up beneath the warmth of Africa in the form of a brightly, brightly colored quilt. Finally, the little footsteps bounce in to see me and a toddler is helping me to greet the day with joy and excitement. The baby is all cuddly in footy pajamas and we all snuggle together for a while, and I read the Bible. And once we make it out of the bed, I finally finish waking up with some breakfast and a cup of coffee. Our mornings are so sweet, and I can’t think of a better way to wake up!

This is a prompt from the Gypsy Mama. Go check out her blog, and the other Five Minute Friday posts.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

5 responses »

  1. Sounds like such a wonderful start to the day-footy pjs, snuggles and all! (And by-the-way, I’m a slow waker, too!) So glad to have gotten a glimpse of your happy mornings! 🙂

  2. This is a beautiful way to wake up! And yes, I love that smile that is just for me! 🙂 (Oh yes, and a great cup of coffee doesn’t hurt either!) Enjoy your little one.
    Peace.

  3. Beautiful that you can read your Bible in bed with a toddler. Ours would grab the thin pages from us!! So we read the Jesus Storybook Bible before bed. 😉

Leave a Reply

