Winter is Over!

Standard

At least, my family has declared that winter must be over. We’ll see how effective that is… Yesterday was just a perfect spring day, so in the morning, we bought and planted our mini container garden for this year. As I think I’ve said before, gardening is something Bret and I enjoy doing together, and we’re excited to get Luke involved this year.

He had a great time picking out the plants and digging in the dirt.

Levi and I worked really, really hard! I did get up and help some after this, but somebody has to feed and cuddle that baby.

The space we have open for planting is a small flowerbed in front of the porch and a bunch of pots. For now, the flowerbed is just flowers, so we bought a variety of flowers to try out this year. We’ve never grown any of these before, but I’m excited about all of them. In addition to the flowers you can see up there, we also got a jasmine vine, and I’m so enjoying the sweet fragrance. We also planted two different kinds of peppers and two kinds of tomatoes, a few strawberry plants, and some basil. It’s fun to see Luke get excited about eating strawberries off the plants.

Luke got a special treat, and he kept cracking us up by calling it his “fertilizer”! I didn’t even know he knew the word fertilizer.

Later in the day, we enjoyed sitting outside, and also grilled burgers, which MUST mean winter is over, right?

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

3 responses »

  1. Your plants remind me of happy days when I lived in Virginia, and started planting for the long Spring. I have absolutely declared Winter over in Massachusetts. Let’s see now if I am right!

  2. Yeah, we woke up this morning and it was cold again… but not freezing which is good for the plants. I feel like we have a short spring, and a LONG summer! But I’ll take that over a long winter anyday.

Leave a Reply

