My New Favorite Book

Standard

… which I haven’t actually read yet. The Lord lead me to a blog about a year and a half ago, and I’ve been encouraged, taught, and convicted by it almost daily ever since. The blog is A Holy Experience, and the author, Ann Voskamp, has just released her book! The title is One Thousand Gifts; it chronicles Ann’s journey (and fight) for joy and how constant, consistent  thankfulness to God changed her heart. I began my Thankfulness posts after reading of Ann’s intentionality to count the ways the Father blesses her.

I had it on preorder, something that I’ve never done before, and it came in the mail this weekend. I’ve just kind of nibbled on the beginning of the book, but I’m gladly anticipating some time to sit down and really read it. I’m hesitant to recommend a book I haven’t actually read yet, but the Lord has used Ann Voskamp’s writing for good in my heart so often. She loves Jesus, writes poignantly, and speaks the truth with gentleness. So I feel pretty confident that this book is going to live up to my expectations, and I have some great expectations! Here’s a trailer to whet your appetite.

I’m going to be reading along with this book club. And I’m excited to hear Ann’s own elaboration on what she’s written, as well as learning how the book impacts other women.

If you decide to read it, I’d really love to hear your thoughts and reactions!

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. Rachel! I pre-ordered this book as well and should be getting it any day! I am so excited to “break it in”!
    I am confident that it is worthy of recommendation even if you haven’t read it yet. ha!
    By the way: we just found out we have a baby on the way! Please praise the Lord with us!

  2. Pingback: French Press Cozy « Willing Hands

Leave a Reply

