Book Review ~ Faithful Women and Their Extraordinary God

Standard

I recently finished Faithful Women and Their Extraordinary God by Noel Piper. I had skimmed this book sometime ago at someone’s house, but hadn’t read it until my sweet husband ordered it for me. This book is composed of five chapters, and each chapter overviews the life of a godly woman.

I particularly enjoyed reading this book because I’d never heard of several of the women before. Noel Piper clearly and succinctly writes about Sarah Edwards, Lilias Trotter, Helen Roseveare, Gladys Aylward, and Esther Ahn Kim. The only woman I’d read anything about before, or even heard of, is Sarah Edwards. Each of these women spent her life to worship and serve her Savior. Since each life story is told in a fairly short chapter, I find my interest piqued to find out more about these women who feared the Lord and did great things in Him.

Another aspect I appreciate about Noel Piper’s writing is that she uses these lives to point the reader to Christ, his infinite worth, and great work. She takes time to point out what we can learn from these women through the trials they endured and the difficult choices they made. I’ve read some (even Christian) biographies that, although interesting, neglected to acknowledge God and His work and purpose, so I am refreshed by Noel Piper’s book.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

