The Epic of the Big Boy Bed ~ Part 3

Standard

Wow! I am way behind on updating y’all on the status of Luke’s new bed! He’s SLEEPING in it now! Bret was able to finish the frame, attach it to the head board and foot board, and insert the boards that make the base. There were a couple of times when he wasn’t sure if everything was going to go together just right, but in the end, all his hard work and precise, detail-oriented measuring produced this:

I think Luke likes it.

Here, you can see the spaces left for the drawers (which aren’t done yet), and the lovely staining and finishing Bret did. Because the base is so sturdy and level, we just stuck the mattress on top. That way, it’s low enough that Luke can climb in and out on his own. Luke also got some new bedding to go with the quilt Grammy made for him.

Luke does pretty well sleeping in it. He’s learning that he must stay in bed during naptime and at bedtime, but once he calms down, he sleeps really well. I’m so thankful for that, because I was a bit concerned that he would be afraid of such a big bed. He loves it, though. He likes to sit up there and read books or play, or get some cuddles.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

