Good Recipes from this Week

Standard

I’ve been in the mood to try some new recipes, and so far, this week has been a cooking success! I love it when that happens. Trying new recipes is such a hit-or-miss endeavor, and I get frustrated when I put the time and work into preparing something that just isn’t good. So I wanted to share with y’all these two tasty dinners.

The first new recipe I tried was Chicken & Spinach Enchiladas. Delicious! And they got a 9.5 out of 10 on the certified husband rating scale. I made them exactly like the recipe, except that I added some garlic to the sauce, just because we like garlic, and I left out the jalapeño, because my pregnant stomach and Luke’s little one do better without a lot of heat. I think in the future, though,  I won’t do the extra work of frying the tortillas, we didn’t really notice much of a difference

The second experimental recipe was Pad Thai, which we had tonight. Also, Yum! Bret was skeptical at first, because of the smell, but we both really enjoyed eating it (8.5 out of 10 on the HRS). I added some ginger to the sauce, left out the sprouts because there wasn’t any at the store today, and added thinly sliced carrots. I’d been craving pad thai since I had some while visiting family in another city and this was a great way to fulfill that desire. I was also surprised at how easy and quick this was to cook.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. Tsk, tsk, you forgot to mention who pointed you to the enchilada recipe! Yes, it is all about me =)

  2. Great!! Thanks for linking to the pad thai recipe. And a hearty “hear hear” to how frustrating trying new recipes can be! Our certified husband rating system is “LOVE it!”, “sure, make it again” or “thank you for trying, but please don’t make this again.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

