Book Review~ The Holiness of God

Standard

I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Holiness of God, by R.C. Sproul.

I was encouraged, convicted, and given a renewed thoughtfulness for the transcendent perfection of the One True God.  I would call this book Sproul’s systematic exploration of God’s holiness. There didn’t seem to be much continuity from one chapter to another, except that the whole book is centered around the holiness of God. For me, with the way my time is allotted right now, this was good, because I could read a chapter, put down the book, and start a new chapter days later without feeling lost.

I especially appreciated Sproul’s explanation of God’s justice, human wrestling with this holy God, and God’s unsurpassed beauty.

There are a few issues I question, especially the last chapter about innately holy spaces and times. If you’ve read the book, and have any input, I’d really love to hear it.

I’ve heard that for many, this is a transformative book, but for me, it wasn’t. This is simply because God has been gracious to teach me many of these doctrines already. It was a very profitable read, and I’m so thankful that this book has placed God’s holiness at the forefront of my mind.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

