Look!

Standard

Amazing as it is, I actually made something for the new baby. And it worked! I used this hat pattern to make this adorable, cable-y hat for my precious coming baby.

I love the way it turned out. The actual knitting of this hat was only about 1 day, but I had to start and rip it out once, so it took me a lot longer than that. I had to be very precise in counting rows, and I didn’t do that well the first try.  Besides that,  it sat in the closet for at least a week while I worked on this:

I am ridiculously excited about this work-in-progress! I’m using this pattern, a bunch of colors, and just creating and joining each hexagon as I go. There’s no set plan, but I think that’s part of what’s so fun. It feels kind of like playing with yarn, plus the added bonus that I get something pretty and useful at the end. I’m so excited to snuggle my little fall baby in this cozy blankie. I’ve been watching the World Cup, and this has been my soccer project. It’s fun, fairly mindless crocheting, and I’m just having the best time watching it come together. The picture is one week’s work.

It’s been so sweet to sit and craft and pray for my new little baby. It’s also a great opportunity to talk to Luke about his new baby brother coming. I think Luke wants the things I’m making, so I’ve gotten out the baby blankie I made for him and he has it in his crib now.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks! The yarn for both projects is Caron Simply Soft. It’s not really shiny, but it does have a bit of a sheen, and the flash makes it look like that.

  2. Pingback: Action Shots « Willing Hands

Leave a Reply

