Book Review~ Gospel-Powered Parenting

Standard

Gospel-Powered Parenting: How the Gospel Shapes and Transforms Parenting

This book, by William Farley, took me a really long time to read. Partially because I’ve picked up my husband’s bad habit of reading several books at once, and partly because it didn’t live up to my expectations. It was recommended to me as better than Shepherding a Child’s Heart, by Tedd Tripp, but did not live up to that recommendation. This is a good book, just not THAT good.

I found it a helpful, fruitful reminder of what the Gospel is, and how it should impact my parenting. I was reminded of the importance of living out grace and worship before my sons as well as resting in God’s sovereign will to save them.

Overall, I wouldn’t necessarily recommend this book. I don’t want to be too negative, because there’s nothing wrong with it.  I’m just not really impressed or changed because of reading it.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

