Hearts

Standard

As I’ve told y’all before, Bret and I don’t do much for Valentine’s day. I do think however, that the holiday can be a good reminder of God’s great love for us, and a great opportunity to show love to people around us.

I created a centerpiece to remind us of the love of God. The bottom part is some hearts, crocheted with yarn leftovers that I’ve had for quite a while. The rest of it is just stuff from around the house. Luke was interested in the sign and the flowers, so I used that as an opportunity to talk to him about God’s love for us, and the love we are to show to others.

A few years ago, I made heart cookies, and I did that again this year. I used the same recipe for the cookies, and this year, I had a sweet little helper!

Luke had so much fun dumping in ingredients and helping me stir the dough.

I did the rest of the baking and icing during naptime or after he was asleep at night. I had a bit of a fiasco with the icing. I used a recipe from Bakerella, and the icing turned out way too thick! I got a hand cramp trying to squeeze it out of the icing bag. Of course, it was a huge mess trying to return the icing to the bowl and thin it out a bit. I think I ended up adding a tablespoon more water than she calls for in the recipe. The icing ended up tasting really good, but in the future, if it looks to thick in the bowl, I’m going to thin it out before putting it in the icing bag.

Here are the cookies all bagged up and tied with tiny hearts I crocheted. We had a great time as a family taking these and delivering them to our friends.


This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.
1 John 4:10-11

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

