Book Recommendations for Kids

Standard

My friend, Lauren, recently shared some books that she’s enjoying reading to her sweet little girl, so I thought I’d share some books that I’ve been reading to Luke.

One is a children’s Bible called The Big Picture Story Bible, by David Helm.

The Big Picture Story Bible

I saved up my swagbucks to get this Bible for Luke. I love reading it to him; and he loves it too. He often asks to read it. This book provides a sweeping overview of the story of the Bible. Every story is linked, and reveals that Jesus is the center of the whole Bible; the whole Bible points to him. The pictures are beautiful, and the writing is clear and simple. This Bible is not comprehensive and detailed, so as Luke gets older, we’ll add in another Bible , but right now, I think this is such a great foundation for him. I think it gives him a helpful, profitable framework for understanding the many stories and teachings of the Bible.

Fool Moon Rising

The other book we’ve been enjoying is called Fool Moon Rising by  Kristi and T. Lively Fluharty. This book is a simple, well-illustrated story that teaches children that all glory belongs to God alone, and we can only reflect that Him to the world around us. We got this book last weekend, and have probably read it at least 30 times since then. Luke loves it and asks for “moooon” quite a bit.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

