Book Review~ Treasures of Encouragement

Standard

*I’m writing this review quite about 2 months after I finished the book, so it’s a little less full of my immediate reactions to the book.

God greatly used Treasures of Encouragement by Sharon Betters to encourage and exhort me. I highly recommend this book. I read it over almost a year; part of that time, I met regularly with a friend to talk about what the Lord was showing us through Better’s book. The book is a treasure chest of biblical thoughts on encouragement: what biblical encouragement really is, how prayer inspires encouragement, the command to be encouragers, practical examples, and how the body of Christ must function.

Here are my thoughts on it, in bullet form, because I can’t seem to make them into rational paragraphs.

Reasons I like Treasures of Encouragement:

  • It is full of biblical truth, made poignant by life experience and spiritual wrestling over these issues. Betters lost her son at age 16, and much of what she writes stems from that time of grief, encouragement from the body, and wrestling with God and His Word.
  • It always points me back to the Gospel and who I am in Christ, before telling me what I must do to live that out.
  • Along that same line, it is theological and practical, and Betters makes clear that right thinking and feeling about God and His people will lead to right actions.
  • Betters places rightful importance on prayer and the Holy Spirit as leading and guiding godly encouragement.

I highly recommend this book, and I especially encourage you to do the questions at the end of each chapter, if you read Treasures of Encouragement.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

