Crafting

Standard

I know it seems like my blog as become all Luke all the time, but there are other aspects of my life, and I have pictures to share with you! I usually get to do a bit of crafting each day, depending on how busy we are, and whether or not I’m home during nap time and after Luke goes to sleep. I so enjoy making pretty, useful treasures. It’s nice to do something that makes progress and doesn’t have to be done again tomorrow.

Here’s what I’ve been making:

Mr. Greenjeans Sweater in Simply Soft (again). I’m really excited about how this is turning out. I’m DEE-lighted with the cables! So far, the pattern has been clear and easy, and I’m hopeful that this will turn out wearable. We’ll see. Bret picked out the yarn and color, and I’m liking it a lot.  Here’s a picture of the cables:

Aren’t they lovely?

I’m also knitting socks! Yay! I’m not so fond of the feel of this sock yarn, although I do like the colors, blue and brown! The yarn is Bernat Sox, and it feels pretty rough, but I’m hoping it will soften when I was them. I’m making basic ribbed socks, and really liking them so far. This is the first sock, in progress. I tried to make another pattern, but I didn’t like it, and I made several mistakes, so I ripped that out and I’m really liking this rendition.

Finally, this weekend, I’m gotten to make some little surprises for people I love. And… I have a teaser for you! Look what I’m making!

These are both in crochet. I hadn’t crocheted in a while, because I’d been knitting garments, and it was so fun to have the hook in my hand again. I feel like I can be more creative with crochet, and I enjoy trying new things in crochet better than in knitting. Knitting still makes me a little nervous: all those stitches that could suddenly and disastrously unravel. Anyway, I think I’m going to remember that I like to crochet and pick up the hook more often.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

3 responses »

  1. Lovely! You do such beautiful work! I just started trying to learn to knit. Maybe you can help me next week.

  2. Pingback: Action Shots « Willing Hands

Leave a Reply

