Book Review~ Love has a Price Tag

Standard

My sister gave me Love has a Price Tag, by Elisabeth Elliot, as a bridesmaid’s gift. I’ve slowly been reading it before I go to sleep. I’ve enjoyed all of Elisabeth Elliot’s writing that I’ve had a chance to read. She is so wise, humble, and full of truth. This book is no different. It is compiled from a column that she used to write, and each chapter can stand alone. I really enjoyed reading these succinct, straight-to-the-heart, essays.

My favorite chapter was the last one, and mostly because it contains this:

“The routines of housework and mothering may be seen as a kind of death, and it is appropriate that they should be, for they offer the chance, day after day, to lay down one’s life for others. Then they are no longer routines. By being done with love and offered up to God with praise, they are thereby hallowed as the vessels of the tabernacle were hallowed – not because they were different from other vessels in quality or function, but because they were offered up to God. A mother’s part in sustaining the life of her children and making it pleasant and comfortable is no triviality. It calls for self-sacrifice and humility, but it is the route, as was the humiliation of Jesus, to glory.”

What a wonderful encouragement to work at whatever we’re doing for the glory of God!

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

