Book Review~ A Shelter in Time of Storm

Standard

A Shelter in the Time of Storm: Meditations on God and Trouble

I really enjoyed reading A Shelter in the Time of Storm by Paul David Tripp. He shares his meditations on one of my favorite Psalms, number 27. I took a good while to read this short book, because I read it, one chapter a night, before going to sleep. There are 52 short (1-2 page) chapters, just perfect for a few minutes of quiet-down reading. Each chapter was profitable for my soul and encouraging to my faith.

Each chapter is Tripp’s meditations on a verse from Psalm 27, not in order, and some verses are repeated. Each chapter is very easy and quick to read, but also very heart-penetrating and convicting. I especially enjoyed the questions at the end of each chapter, which forced me to examine my heart and evaluate whether I respond to storms in a way that honors God. I was greatly blessed by Tripp’s God-centered writing and willingness to deal with the deep issues of the heart.

I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living! Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!
~Psalm 27:13-14

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

