Little Reader

Standard

DSCN4099 by you.

DSCN4104 by you.

One of my favorite parts of Luke’s developing personality is his enjoyment of books. He loves to read with Mama or Daddy, or anyone who will read to him. He will also just sit by himself and look at the pictures in a book.  Although he’s a busy, curious, active boy (within 10 minutes today, he dunked my pjs in the toilet, and unrolled the toilet paper!), he will gladly sit still for quite a while looking at books.

In encouraging Luke to enjoy reading and to value learning, I have been greatly aided by Gladys Hunt’s book Honey for a Child’s Heart. I stumbled (by sweet Providence) on this book in the public library. It is a gem of a book! I haven’t read all of it, but I am definitely going to. The first section is gentle, joyful encouragement to read to children and to encourage them to read. One of the things I found particularly helpful were Hunt’s thoughts on how reading good books teaches children and can even enhance the Christ-focused shepherding of a home. The second section is an annotated bibliography of books she recommends. The book list is divided into ages and genres. This is so helpful to me! I’ve started taking a list with me when I go to the library to get books for Luke, so that I can be more certain that I’m getting books that are good for him.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

One response »

Leave a Reply

