Boy Pajamas

Standard

I’ve been wanting to make some pajamas for Luke, just some little cotton shorts and maybe some applique’d shirts to match. So far, I’ve made one pair of shorts. It seems like getting set up to sew takes more time and space than I’ve had recently. Here are the shorts, on a very handsome model:

DSCN4091 by you.

The fabric has little teddy bears with letters on it, and I’m planning to applique a letter on the little white shirt. Bret’s Granny gave the fabric to me so that I could make Luke some pajamas. I used this free tutorial. I just took Luke’s measurements, and drew right on the fabric with a water-soluble marker, so much easier than making a paper pattern. 

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with how these turned out. There are a few things I will change in the future:
In the tutorial she says that the front and the back can be the same for kids under about 7, but I think with diaper booty, you need some extra room back there.
Also, there needs to be some more ease around his hips, and the inseam needs to be longer, especially if I want him to be able to wear these for a while.

I really like making things for Luke, because its special to me to see him wearing something I made just for him. What a sweet way to show my little man that I love him and want to take good care of him.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

