Rest

Standard

Some of you will remember that a while ago I posted a review of a book that I received for free in exchange for reading and reviewing it. This is another one of those posts.

rest-cover

The book this time is called Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity by Keri Wyatt Kent. I was very excited to read this book when I saw that it was about keeping the Sabbath. I’m still working through what it means for a Christian to honor God by honoring the Sabbath and I was hoping that this book would aid me in better knowing God’s will in this area. I was disappointed. (You can find other reviewers here.)

My main concern with this book is the small amount of Scripture and the way the Word of God is handled. Much of Kent’s explanation and application is built on conjecture; which is very sandy ground. I think that if we’re going to know what God would have us do, we have to look in the Word He has graciously given us. When we are looking there, we also need to understand what it says, not build off of what He has not included.

I am also uneasy about the frequent quoting of other religions, pop psychology, personal experiences, and performance experts. These, along with Kent’s opinions, seem to overshadow the Scripture. While some of what these ideologies state is factual, much of it is contrary to the Bible.

Even with these integral problems, I’m glad I read the book. It has spurred me on to read and study the Scriptures in order to learn exactly what I am commanded and invited to in keeping the Sabbath. I do believe that much of the church today neglects this day, and that rest is given to us as a gift from the Lord. I don’t know yet how exactly that manifests itself in a biblical, godly life, but I am much more driven to study the Word and seek the Lord in prayer over this matter.

“So then, there remains a Sabbath rest for the people of God,
for whoever has entered God’s rest has also rested from his works as God did from his.
Let us therefore strive to enter that rest,
so that no one may fall by the same sort of disobedience.
For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword,
piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow,
and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.
And no creature is hidden from his sight,
but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give account.”
Hebrews 4:9-13

 

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

