SOCKS

Standard

I am so excited about this! I have been knitting my first pair of socks. Its fabulous. I really, really like making them. There are a couple things that are kind of weird about this. First, I don’t wear socks except in winter, as a general rule. And, I used to not like knitting very much. I am enjoying knitting a whole lot more now that I understand it a little better. The book Bret got for me has been really helpful. But there’s something so fascinating to me about how socks kind of form themselves. I’m using a top-down sock recipe, rather than a pattern for this first pair, and I’m loving how they’re turning out. I started this pair of socks right before Easter, and worked on them as we drove down to visit his parents. The bluebonnets were blooming all over the roadsides, and I think these socks fit right in with that.

DSCN3837 by you.

They’ve been set aside a few times, to work on the gifts I mentioned earlier. One sock is finished, and I’m happily stockinetting away on the second one. I’m using Serenity Sock Weight yarn in Obsidian and size 2 double-pointed needles. The yarn is a blend of merino wool, bamboo, and nylon. It is so much fun to knit with, and feels great on my foot. I love the colors, but there are a bunch of knots in the skein, not so good. I’ve learned so many new things making these socks: a stretchy cast on, short rows for the heel, combining stitches, and Kitchener stitch. Maybe that’s what I like so much about making socks. They’re little enough not to be intimidating, but complex enough to challenge me and teach me new things.

DSCN3840 by you.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

