Husband-Friendly Veggies

Standard

This is more of a method than a recipe, but I really, really like cooking vegetables this way. AND, wonder of wonders, Bret likes to eat them! Before we got married he didn’t eat anything green, or really any veggies at all. But he actually enjoys them prepared this way. Its also super easy. This works for lots of different vegetables. I’ve used it with asparagus, broccoli, carrots, bell peppers, zucchini, yellow squash, and tomatoes.

1) Preheat the oven to 350. (If you’re baking something else, it works fine to cook them at a different temp, just make sure to check the vegetables often)

2) Chop your veggie into about bite-size pieces.

3) Toss it with some olive oil, garlic, salt, and pepper. You don’t want very much oil, or else the veggies will get soggy (yuck!). The salt, pepper, and garlic is just to your taste.

4) Spread them evenly out on a baking sheet with a lip (like a bar pan).  And roast them in the oven for about 10-15 minutes or until they’re the tenderness you like. You can test them with a fork. I usually stir them around a couple time while they’re cooking so they cook evenly.

5) Put them on a plate and serve your family something healthy and tasty!

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. Fantastic, Rachel! I will have to try this! Tell me, are you referring to crushed, minced, or powder garlic?

  2. Bethan, I use both fresh (minced) and powder garlic, depending on what I have and how much time I want to spend. I don’t think it really matters.

Leave a Reply

