Recipe of the Week – Baby Food

Standard

I’ve been making my own baby food since we came back from our Christmas travels. I’ve been surprised at how easy and un-time-consuming it is. Right now, he eats solid food 4 times a day, and he’s eating fruits and vegetables. This is working very well for us right now.

DSCN3453 by you.

This is what I do to prepare food for my little man:

One day, usually after I’ve gone to the grocery store, I cook a whole bunch of different foods. I bake sweet potatoes, and steam almost everything else – peaches, pears, peas, green beans, mango, and blueberries. I think that’s all I’ve made so far.

Once the first food is finished cooking, I pull out the food processor and puree each food as it gets done. That way, I get the food processor out one time about every two weeks and don’t have to mess with it again for a while.

Lastly, I put the pureed foods in ice cube trays and freeze them. Once they’re frozen solid, I pop them out  and keep them frozen in ziplocks until I need them.

When I’m ready to feed Luke, I just take out 1-2 cubes, and heat them up in a glass jar in the microwave.

I also give him fresh avocados and bananas. I buy a large jar of adult unsweetened applesauce that he eats mixed with his cereal in the morning. Right now, I’ve been using frozen fruits and vegetables, and that seems to be working very well.

I do buy carrot baby food, because fresh carrots can contain to much nitrogen for an infant, and commercial baby food avoids carrots that are too high in nitrogen.  

Click here to go to a website which has been really helpful for me in caring for Luke this way.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for putting the website on here!! I have been making my own baby food as well and that website is super helpful!!! Thank you Rachel!

Leave a Reply

