Recipe of the Week – Stroganoff

Standard

This is one of our favorite meals. We eat stroganoff with egg noodles or fettucine. You can also serve it over rice.  I think we like egg noodles best. This recipe is from my trusty-dusty Betty Crocker cookbook. I’m posting it here because the last time I made this dish, I substituted venison steaks for the beef, and it turned out great! Bret went hunting over the break, so I’m looking for ways to use the meat he has provided for us. This dish works great with venison or beef.

Beef Stroganoff

1 – 1.5 lbs beef tenderloin or VENISON
2 Tbs. butter (I just use a 1/4 cup measure, and fill it half full)
1.5 cups beef broth
2 Tbs. ketchup
1 tsp. salt
1 clove garlic, finely chopped (or minced)
3 cups slice mushrooms (8 oz) (I actually don’t put in the mushrooms, b/c hubby doesn’t like them, but please include them if you do)
1 medium onion, chopped
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup sour cream

Cut beef/venison into about 1-inch chunks. Cook it until brown in a skillet with the butter.

Stir 1-cup beef broth, the ketchup, salt, and garlic into meat. Heat to boiling, cover and simmer about 10 minutes.

Stir in mushrooms and onions. Heat to boiling, cover and simmer about 5 minutes.

Thoroughly mix remaining broth and the flour, gradually stir into meat mixture. While stirring, heat to boiling, continue for 1 minute.

Stir in sour cream, heat until hot.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

