The Knitting Saga ~ Reprise

Standard

After the complete failure of the Sugar Plum Sweater, I was lamenting that fact that I can’t seem to get crochet to do what I want it to do in making clothes. Its fabulous for making SO many things, but even after reading different articles, and trying different things, I can’t get a crocheted sweater to fit my body right. I was also explaining to Bret that I’m still not any good at knitting, and still don’t like it a whole lot, but that I’m willing to learn more about it, and see if it will behave better  in garments.

So what did my sweet, thoughtful husband do? He took me to the wonderful Joann’s superstore, and got me knitting supplies, some new yarn, and a book! Yay! I started practicing last night, and did some today also. Knitting just does not come as naturally to me as crochet does. So here’s my practicing so far:

dscn3440

You can see that it is not good at all, however, the movements are becoming easier, and working better. I feel like knitting is alot more complex than crochet.

This is the book that Bret got for me. Its been very helpful, and I think it will be a good resource as I (hopefully) get better at knitting. It has the basics, as well as some more advanced techniques, and stitch patterns. I’m not especially fond of most of the patterns in the book, but patterns are easy to find on the internet and other places.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

