The Epic of the Dinner Rolls

Standard

I signed up to bring dinner rolls to our small group gathering earlier this week. I found this great recipe online, and calculated how many hours I needed to get everything ready before we left, but still have them hot when we got there. I felt all prepared, and excited to try my hand at making rolls (I’ve only made them one other time, with a different recipe, and they didn’t turn out so great).

So, at the right time, I put all the ingredients in the breadmaker, and left it to do its thing. About an hour later, I went back in to check on them, but when I opened the breadmaker lid, NOTHING had happened! I realized that I had selected the cycle I wanted to use, but neglected to press start. After some quick recalculation, I figured I might be able to JUST make it. So I pressed start.

A little while later, when the kneading began, the breadmaker began to make funny noises. So I went into the kitchen, where it dawned on me that I had forgotten to put the paddle in the bottom, so all the “kneading” was pointless. By this time it was only a little over an hour before we left, so I ended up making biscuits to take to Care Group instead.

While I was running around, scrambling to get biscuits made and in the oven, my sister, Ruthie, gets on the instant messenger, and asks to talk to me. I start talking to her, all the while, measuring flour and adding in salt. I do that until she tells me the reason that she wanted to talk:

SHE IS ENGAGED!

ruthie-stephen1

I am so excited for them! Congratulations, Ruthie and Stephen!

Anyway, with excitement adding distraction to my baking efforts, I did manage to get one batch of biscuits in the oven, and Bret made another. They turned out just fine, and were enjoyed at care group.

I ended up baking the rolls the next day, after they sat in the fridge all night. I just couldn’t bear to waste all those ingredients. And guess what? They STILL turned out good!dscn3309

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

One response »

Leave a Reply

