Standard

On the inside cover of my Bible, there is a banana sticker. I know that sounds kind of strange, and maybe a little irreverent, but this is what the sticker says: “The food that fights for you”. I think that little idiom is much more true of God’s Word than of a banana. Here’s why:

  • And He humbled you and let you hunger and fed you with manna, which you did not know, nor did your fathers know, that He might make you know that man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord. (Deuteronomy 8:3)
  • Is not my word like a fire, declares the Lord, and like a hammer that breaks the rock into pieces? (Jeremiah 23:29)
  • For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart. (Hebrews 4:12)
  • and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, (Ephesians 6:17)

This small sticker regularly catches my attention, and helps me to think of the power and truth of God’s Word, as well as reminding me how much I need the nourishment of Scripture.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

