Recipe of the Week – Pumpkin Bars

Standard

I made this recipe a few weeks ago for our care group. As you can see, I didn’t get a picture before they started being “tasted.” 🙂

DSCN3039 by you.

Pumpkin Bars
4 large eggs
2 cups granulated sugar
1 c. vegetable oil
1 15-oz can pumpkin
2 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/4 tsp. ground cloves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a bar pan. In a large bowl, beat first four ingredients. Then, stir in last 7. Spread in bar pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Cool completely, at least 2 hours. (You probably want to soften your butter and cream cheese for the frosting starting when you take the bars out of the oven.

Cream Cheese Frosting
3 oz cream cheese
1/3 c. butter
1 tsp. vanilla
2 c. powdered sugar

Beat cream cheese, butter, and vanilla until smooth in electric mixer. Slowly add powdered sugar. Frost the bars. (I also sprinkle chopped walnuts on some of the bars, that just depends on your personal taste.)

I have a funny story about these bars. When I was still in college, I made these for a different small group Bible study. There were lots left over, which I gladly took home with me. I really enjoy these bars, especially the cream cheese frosting (yum). For some reason,  I left them sitting on our kitchen table, and when I returned, someone had beaten me to the frosting. This little character had come, leaned up on the table, and licked off ALL the cream cheese frosting, rendering my tasty treat inedible.  

DSCN1685 by you.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

