Advent

Standard

DSCN3255 by you.

For as long as I can remember, my family has celebrated advent together in our home. No matter where we were in the world, my mom had candles, the book, and some sort of wreath. Some of my favorite Christmas memories are centered around lighting the candles; reading, singing, and praying together;¬†welcoming guests; and putting out a manger scene week by week. Bret and I have continued this tradition in our own home. We find that it helps us to focus on Christ, and encourages us to ponder and marvel over God’s perfect plan in sending his unique Son as a baby to save His people from their sins.

For those of you that don’t know, advent is celebrated by lighting candles, and reading certain Scriptures during the four weeks leading up to Christmas. Each candle symbolizes an aspect of the Christmas story. So, for us, advent began this past Sunday, with the prophecy candle. Right now, we read, sing, and pray together. In the future, I’m sure our advent celebrations will involve things for Luke to participate in.

Bret is posting our advent readings and meditations over on his blog. Go check it out!

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

