Daily Thankfulness

Standard

This evening, as I was doing the dishes, and listening to this song, I was struck by how much I constantly have to be thankful for in God’s mercy and salvation to me. I often lift up prayers of thanks for daily circumstances, but recently I have been lacking in conscious appriciation for the redemption Christ accomplished for me. I think this is maybe because it sometimes seems more abstract than the things that occur in my everyday life and the lives of those dear to me.

I think the Lord reminded of how precious, miraculous, and amazing salvation is: that I, a hardened sinner should be rescued from God’s righteous wrath by the life, death, and resurrection of His only Son. It is indeed INCREDIBLE!   

I was also reminded that many of the things for which I am thankful would not be part of my life at all without the Father’s work in my heart and in orchestrating my life. I would doubtless not be married to a wonderful man in seminary, not have a delightful son, not enjoy being a stay-at-home mom, not be glad in great familial relationships, and not be supported and encouraged by the church. This is to say nothing of the Spirit living in me, granting hope, peace, and faith.

Here are the lyrics to the song, “Heavenly Father, Beautiful Son,” by Mark Altrogge. It is from Sovereign Grace Music’s Valley of Vision album.

Father, You loved me
Sent Your Son to redeem
Jesus, You washed me
By Your blood I am clean
Spirit, You’ve opened these blinded eyes
And brought me to Christ

Heavenly Father, beautiful Son
Spirit of light and truth
Thank You for bringing sinners to come to You

Father, You gave me
To Jesus to keep
And Jesus, You love me
As a shepherd, his sheep
Spirit, You’ve given me faith in the Son
And made our hearts one

Father, You’re waiting
To hear my requests
Jesus, Your loving
Open hand is outstretched
Spirit, You’re in me, You intercede
And help in my need

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

