Recipe of the Week: Double Chocolate Banana Muffins

Standard

DSCN3028 by you.

I love these muffins! I don’t make them very often, because Bret doesn’t eat chocolate. However, I’m having several friends over this week, so I’ll be able to share some of the chocolatey goodness with others. And I had an over-ripe banana. I got this recipe at my old work, so I don’t know where it originally came from.

Double Chocolate Banana Muffins

1/4 c. butter, softened
2/3 c. sugar
1 egg
2/3 tsp. CUP sour cream
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 c. flour
2 Tbs. cocoa
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
pinch of salt
1 ripe banana, mashed
1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips
1/4 c. coarsely chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease or line 12 muffin cups.
In a large bowl, mix butter, sugar, egg, sour cream, and vanilla. Add flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt all at once. Mix just until blended. Stir in mashed banana, chips, and walnuts.
Distribute evenly among muffin cups. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
Cool muffins in the pan for 5 minutes, then cool on a rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

DSCN3031 by you.

I especially like them with coffee. 🙂 I amended the recipe a bit to put in half a cup of walnuts and some extra chocolate chips. I didn’t have any sour cream, so I mixed 1 Tbs. white vinegar with 2/3 cup of heavy whipping cream and let it sit for about 5 minutes. That seemed to work just fine.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

6 responses »

  1. I made your recipe over the weekend because I just happened to have that one extra banana myself. They were wonderful!! Absolutely a keeper and Michael liked them too even though he isn’t a huge chocolate eater himself – something I will NEVER understand! 🙂

  2. I made the muffins this morning for Darryl and family. They all thought they were delicious, so did I. In the list of ingredients you have 2/3 tsp. sour cream, but at the end in using vinegar and heavy cream you said 2/3 cup, which is what I used.

  3. Ooo, thanks for pointing out that mistake, Oma. And I’m so glad you could use the recipe to serve our family. I hope y’all had a great visit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

