Radical Womanhood

Standard
I just finished reading this great new book! Carolyn McCulley was gracious enough to be the speaker at our women’s conference this year. Her talks covered a small portion of the information in the book, and after hearing that, I was intrigued enough to set aside my other reading and ingest this book. It lived up to my expectations! Here’s a video that Carolyn did which sums up the history of feminism – in 4 minutes!
The premise of the book is that in order to be biblically wise women, we need to understand the feminist worldview that pervades everything around us. This allows us to see the issues more clearly, and allows Scripture to transform our minds. So, to this end, Carolyn goes through the history of feminism and reveals to the readers just how ideas began, and in what way they effect our lives today. She addresses whether men are the problem, gender roles, motherhood, domesticity, the current culture, and feminine faith.
One of my favorite aspects of this book is that Carolyn is very level-headed when it comes to evaluating feminism.  She does not fly about, raving that all feminism is evil, instead, she acknowledges that there were some positive changes produced by the feminist movement, such as the right to vote and own property. She also points out that feminists did see real problems that did need to be addressed; they were correct in their assessments, BUT their understanding of the issues was flawed, and therefore their response was flawed.
I highly recommend this book. It is insightful and contains a wealth of knowledge about which I had never even thought. It was interesting to learn where many of today’s attitudes originated, and then to see how different, and truly radical, a biblical perspective continues to be.
About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

