Vintage Sewing Goodies

Standard

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of taking Luke to visit his Noni and Granda, my grandparents. Part of the reason for going was to visit them, and let them see Luke before they move to another state, and part of the reason was to go through some things of which they were getting rid. There was a large box full of sewing stuff that they had inherited from my great-grandmother. It was so much fun to go through that, and choose some things. I tried to take only what I’ll really use, because we don’t have to much space for extra stuff around here. Its really neat that I’ll be able to use some of the tools that my Ami used to care for her family.

This is the best thing that I found in the box:

DSCN2862 by you.

Its a sewing apron! The little sun is a pincushion, and there’s a little loop for some scissors. Its about the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. I’m guessing that my great-grandmother made it, because there’s no tag.

This was also a great find:

DSCN2870 by you.

DSCN2871 by you.

DSCN2872 by you.

Isn’t it fantastic! I love old sewing books; they’re more helpful in many ways, because people used to need to sew more. And look at those illustrations, aren’t they great?

Here are some of the other goodies I got:

DSCN2866 by you.

I also received some more practical and less photogenic things like bias tape, seam binding, thread, pins, and some cloth! I’m excited to get to use this stuff, because it will serve my family, connect us to my heritage, and is cost-free.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

One response »

  1. What a cute apron! Looks like it was made for you. What neat treasures! I know you will make good use of them.

Leave a Reply

