Recipe of the Week – Pesto Chicken & Vegetables with Polenta

Standard

DSCN2722 by you.

This is the meal that we had for dinner tonight. I think all the flavors work together really well, because the chicken & veggies are full of flavor, and the creamy-ness of the polenta works well with that.

Pesto Chicken & Vegetables

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
8 roma tomatoes, cut into 1/2 in slices (I used 2 slicing tomatoes, because that’s what I had, and they worked just fine)
4 zucchini, cut into 1/2 in slices
1/2 cup Basil Pesto

On the grill:
Heat coals or gas grill for direct heat. Cut 4 18×12-inch pieces of heavy duty foil; spray with cooking spray.
Place 1 chicken breast, 1/2 of tomatoes and zucchini on one side of each foil piece. Spoon 2 Tbs Basil Pesto over chicken mixture; fold foil over and seal.
Cover and grill packets over medium heat 20-25 minutes.

In the oven:
(I don’t know if this will work for everyone, it works for me with my oven.)
Set oven gauge to broil.
Place tomatoes and zucchini in a baking dish, mix in 1/4 cup of the pesto. Put in oven.
Using 1/8 cup of pesto cover one side of each chicken breast; place on broiler pan w/ the pesto up. Place in broiler. Broil for 9 minutes or until that side is done. At this time, check the vegetables and stir them up.
Flip over, and spread the rest of the pesto on the chicken. Broil for 9 more minutes or until juices are clear in the center of the chicken breast. Your veggies should be done now too.

Polenta

1 cup yellow cornmeal
3/4 cup water
3 1/4 cup boiling water
1 1/2 tsp salt

I added:
white pepper (1 shake)
garlic (2 shakes)
Parmesan cheese (about 1/4 cup)

In 2-quart saucepan, mix cornmeal and 3/4 cup water. Stir in 3 1/4 cups boiling water, salt, white pepper, and garlic. Cook over medium heat 8-10 minutes, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and boils.
Cover and simmer over low heat about 10 minutes, until very thick.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

