Recipe of the Week – Kung Pao Chicken

Standard

DSCN2648 by you.

I thought I had posted this recipe a long time, but it turns out I hadn’t. This is one of Bret’s most favorite meals, and I like it too, especially because its quick and easy to make. Once again, this is from recipezaar.

Kung Pao Chicken

  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 2 teaspoons light sesame oil or vegetable oil
  • 3 tablespoons green onions, chopped with tops
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4-1 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (I use 1/2 tsp)
  • 1/2 teaspoon powdered ginger 
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/3 cup dry roasted peanuts
  • 3 cups cooked rice, hot

Combine chicken and cornstarch in small bowl. Toss to coat. Heat oil in large non-stick skillet or wok on medium heat. Add chicken. Stir fry 5- 7 minutes or until no longer pink in center. Remove from heat.

Add onions, garlic, red pepper and ginger to skillet. Stir fry 15 seconds.

Combine vinegar, soy sauce and sugar in small bowl. Stir well.  Add to skillet.

Return chicken to skillet. Stir until chicken is well coated. Stir in nuts. Heat thoroughly, stirring occasionally. Serve over hot rice.

I haven’t figured out any sides that go really well with this meal, and I’d love some suggestions, especially vegetable sides.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for the recipe, Rachel! I made this for myself last week (Matt doesn’t like Chinese food) and LOVED it!! I’m now craving it again…I might make it again this weekend. Do you have a recipe you use for fried rice? I think that would be yummy with the chicken.

    I hope you and your boys are doing well!

    Sarah

  2. Hey Rachel! Your pictures of Luke are adorable. He’s getting so big! I also tried this recipe tonight…which was perfect timing b/c before I visited your site I didn’t know what we were having for dinner…so thank you! It was great! I served green beans as a side, mainly b/c that was the only decent side we had in the pantry that I could think of. It was good as a side, but then again…I think green beans go with everything. Have a great evening and hope to see you at the retreat! Take care. Erica 🙂

Leave a Reply

