Blue Cardigan

Standard

Here’s my progress on the cardigan I started from this free tutorial. Its the one I posted about earlier. I was able to do quite a bit of crocheting while we were driving, but I ran out of yarn about halfway through our stay. Its ok, though. This cardigan is working up really fast, and I’m enjoying making it.

DSCN2628 by you.

Here’s a more up-close picture that shows the stitch pattern.

DSCN2627 by you.

As suggested on the tutorial, I’m using a bigger hook than the yarn label calls for, and its making my fabric MUCH have a much better drape and softness. In my first attempt to make a crochet sweater (from a different pattern), I used the size hook the pattern called for, and my sweater ended up resembling a bullet-proof vest; not very flattering. I’m really pleased with how this project is turning out.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

9 responses »

  1. I really want to make this cardigan, too. Any tips? I don’t really know how to read a pattern and what do you do when you get to the sleeves?

    Leigh

    Love the color!

  2. Leigh, are you wanting to knit or crochet your cardigan? I don’t know anything about knitting cardigans.
    I think you might have to use a pattern for something as complex as a cardigan. You can probably find a book or a website that will explain the symbols used in knitting/crochet patterns. I’ve found that they’re not to hard to read once you know the “language”.
    This cardigan is worked all in one piece, except for the sleaves, but pretty soon, I will divide up the yolk, and work the body, leaving stitches empty for the sleaves. Later, I’ll come back and add the sleaves in. Does that make sense? Its kind of weird trying to type it all out. As I’m doing it, I can try to remember to take pictures, if you think that will help you. There are other ways of making cardigans, and you do the sleaves differently in those.

  3. I am going to crochet it. How many stitches do you start with? And do you add a certain number of stitches on each row? I’d appreciate any help.
    What size hook are you using?

  4. I started with 68 stitches. The pattern I’m using adds stitches about every 4 rows. I’m using a K hook. Would it be helpful if I emailed you the pattern and any explainations I can think of?

  5. A super nice cardigan, which I would very much like to begin with – I is beginning to knit and crochet. I do not know if you have any specific pattern to cardigan? I am a great lady who use XL. How many stitches do I start?
    I am not so good to write English, hope that it is no problem to understand my hmm English:)
    Greetings Helle Christiansen

  6. Hi Rachel – I am so glad to read messages from you.
    My little problem is that I can not figure out to get the pattern from the side of “Milobo”. I have tried several times to download without lucky.
    Hm. How did you do?

  7. Helle, you need to download a program from this site: http://www.greatknitdesigns.com/download250.htm
    On this page, at the bottom, you can download Sweaters 2.50.2. The program is one that makes patterns. So the pattern will be made with your measurements. You can follow Milobo’s instructions to make the sweater look like hers. Does that make sense? You won’t download just a pattern, but a program that makes patterns, and then follow Milobo’s instructions to make a sweater like hers. I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions.

Leave a Reply

