Handmade Gifts 1

Standard

I’m thinking you’ve probably noticed the dearth of crafting news around here. I’ve got my hands busy taking care of a sweet little gift from the Lord in the form of baby Luke. And I am so happy with that. I do want to show some of the lovely handmade gifts that I’ve received for Luke. Some wonderful people worked very hard on them, and they are beautiful.

This first one was not actually made for me, but for my mom when she was pregnant with me. I remember it hanging in my room, and in my little sister’s room.

I love the little saying embroidered on it. While I was pregnant, I almost emailed my mom and asked for the exact words, because I wanted to make something with those words. I ran out of time, though. But, when I came home from the hospital with my own little baby, I found this in his room! I love the reminder that caring for and loving my family is most important. (I do think sometimes cleaning is an act of love, but its good to remember that a perfect house is not the goal, a comfortable and loved family, is.) Here’s closer view of the lady rocking her baby:

Isn’t the embroidery great?

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

3 responses »

  1. Beautiful! That was one of my favorite sayings as I raised my children. Love ya! Oma

  2. The embroidery work is absolutely beautiful. Whomever made this for your mother definitely put a lot of time into this.
    How wonderful that it was passed along to you. What a precious heirloom.

Leave a Reply

