Sew Your Own Crib Dust Ruffle

Standard

I’ve noticed a lot people searching for measurements or directions on how to sew a crib dust ruffle. I searched all over the great internet looking for the same info, and couldn’t find anything helpful. So I sort of made it up as I go along. This doesn’t always work out well for me, but this time, it did work. So I thought I’d share what I did. I threw away the paper that I wrote the measurements on, but that part was pretty simple.

The first thing to do is measure the length and width of the crib. I used my husband’s tape measure, and just measured the spring thing that the mattress sits on. That will give you L x W. You should add an inch or two for the seam allowance; how much you add depends on how big you want the seam allowance to be.

Then you need to decide how long you want the ruffle to be. That will give you H. Again, you need to add an inch or two for the seam and hem allowance. (Make sure the seam allowance is the same as the seam allowance you added above.) I made mine for our coming baby, so the mattress is raised as high as it can go and I wanted the ruffle to reach all the way to the floor. Store-bought ruffles are not that long.

Ok, the next step is to figure out the measurements for your pieces of cloth. You will want one piece that is L x W, this is the piece that will go under the mattress. Then you will want two that are H x W (for the ruffle ends), and two that are H x L (for the ruffle sides). Make sure you include seam and hem allowances. I keep saying that because I have forgotten them before, and that’s never good. Sometimes I even cut my fabric a little big, because you can always cut it down, but its difficult to add length. 🙂

The last part is the easiest. Hem up what will be the bottom and sides of your ruffle ends and sides and then sew them to the piece that is to go under the mattress. I don’t recommend sewing the ends and sides together at the corners, because the gap at the corners allows the dust ruffle to sit easily over the bolts that attach the springs to the crib frame.

This makes a more streamlined, tailored-looking dust ruffle. If you wanted something more ruffle-y, you could just double the measurements for the L x W of the actual ruffle pieces.

If you have any questions, or something is not clear, please leave a comment and I’ll try to explain. This is my first time writing anything like this, so I’m very open to your comments and questions.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

4 responses »

  1. You did a wonderful job! I may be making a girly one someday when I have time.

    The reason store ones are shorter is because the crib mattress doesn’t stay high for very long.

    I hope your last days of pregnancy are sweet!

  2. I want to make a dust ruffel for my new greaddaughter but I want it to go to the floor from the mattress at the highest point. I don’t have a crib to measure by. Do you know about how long the ruffler might be. Thanks. Linda

  3. Linda, on my crib, when the mattress is raised as high as it will go, the measurement is 21.5″ to the floor. I don’t know if that’s standard for all cribs or not, but it’ll probably get you pretty close. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

