Thankfulness

Standard

The other day, someone stated that she felt so sorry for people that live in seminary housing, and she didn’t understand how they made it. This got me thinking, because I do live in seminary housing, and not only do I make it, but I *love* our little home. I am SO thankful for the place God has provided for us, and I don’t want to move on to something “bigger and better.” I am thankful for what the Lord has done in my heart, our marriage, and the body of Christ in this place. I am thankful that our home feels like a haven, not a prison, to both of us. And I am thankful that the Lord has given us contentment with housing that He has seen fit to provide for us. We do not have all that the world says we must, but I don’t think that’s a loss in our lives, but rather freedom from loving those things more than the gracious Father who gives them. Here are some of my favorite things about our little home:

The cozy corner of our living room. You can see that I sit here to do my crocheting, and lately, its been the most comfortable place for my expanding self. I love that its by a window, and I like to sit here to read or pray. This is the chair that Bret and I compete for.

This is a painting that Bret and I did together, and it hangs on the wall above our table. It says “Our soul waits for the Lord!” This verse has a lot of meaning to us, partially because we used it on our wedding stuff, and partly because the Lord has taught us much about waiting on Him. I also feel like this expresses our distinct personalities, because I did the fun, flowy green background and Bret did the OCD, detailed lettering.

MY CRAFT AREA! What more can a girl ask for?

Except maybe custom, built-with-love kitchen counters! Bret made these for me pretty soon after we got married. I like to cook, and I’m very messy when I cook, and there just wasn’t enough counter space already in the kitchen. I don’t know what I would do without these.

Our porch! I love to sit out here in the evenings and read or just watch the sky. Its VERY refreshing to me.

Tell me what you’re most thankful for about the home the Lord has given you!

 

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

4 responses »

  1. Sweet! I’m most thankful for my family. I have lots of pretty things in my home that I enjoy but none so much as my family.

    I’ve lived in seminary housing before. My husband went to Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Ft. Worth. We lived in a damp little apartment at the time. Aside from the mold that made everyone in our family sick and the time my oven exploded in my face it was a good experience. LOL But it truly was a good experience, good times and not so good times. It was a growing time for our faith.

  2. I’m thankful that our home is a haven of rest. It has always had an atmosphere of coziness and peace about it. I always look forward to coming back here when we’ve been gone on vacation or a trip somewhere. Kim and I love that it has truly become our home and we are definitely content, even though one day we hope to have a place of our own. My uncle who died of Leukemia recently once told me after he visited mine and Eric’s place in Greenville, that it always amazed him how with the right mindset and heart, no matter how little or big the residence was, the Lord could transform any place into a nice home. I believe he was right.

  3. I’m thankful for a space to share with my husband. And we do have lots of fun just roaming around our yard and taking in God’s creation. I’m thankful for where our home is located, in a place to hear the birds in the early morning hours. I’m thankful for having a place to rest my weary head and eat a warm meal. I am thankful for the warm showers and soap to suds up with! I am thankful to have a place where a bunch of youth can come over to play or provide a safe haven for those in need of a break or eat a meal. Whever I am, God is there and wherever I am, all is His, therefore, the house I live in is His and He is watching over it! Wow….!!! That calls for contentment! (This could go on, Rachel!) Thanks dear daughter-in-law for encouraging us to count our many blessings! p.s. I like your home, too!!!! See ya soon!

  4. yeah. What’s to feel sorry for? Amen to this post. Bethan and I have learned to be very careful about where our thoughts roam concerning the things of this world. It’s easy to preach against the prosperity gospel, and yet believe it at the same time (in some form or fashion). At T4G, Piper made the comment that he has a sign above the door to his study that reads: “Don’t Forget About the Rich Young Ruler.” Of all the things he could have written above his door after thirty years of being a pastor…and that’s what he chose. That says something about how easy it is in our culture to love the things of this world more than Jesus.

    Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

