New Flowers

Standard

You’ve gotta love Texas weather. Thursday night, we had a HUGE storm, complete with tornado warnings and hail, Friday was cold in the morning, and cool all day, today is warm, like in the high 70’s. Its never boring, at least.

Anyway, taking advantage of the lovely, balmy weather outside, Bret and I worked on our little porch area. About a month ago, we cleaned out the garden area in front of our porch, and scattered a variety of flower seeds in between the rose bushes. The little seedlings are starting to come up, and I’m so excited to see them flower, and find out what each plant is.

Today, we potted two hydrangea plants. I really like hydrangeas, and we were looking for plants that will continue to be beautiful year after year, not just this summer. I think that’s more economical. 🙂 We used blue hydrangeas in our wedding, so that makes them even better. 🙂 We bought one with pink flowers:

and one with blue flowers:

I learned today that hydrangeas change color depending on the acidity of the soil… so it didn’t really matter what colors we bought. Except, I guess, for how beautiful they look right now.

Our roses are putting on a great show, and constantly reminding me of the beauty of their Creator:

Here’s a picture of the whole porch:

I love sitting out here and reading or praying or crocheting. It is so refreshing to me. You can see that our hanging plant and the gardenia did survive the winter. 🙂

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. Bret showed me the flowers this morning. I told him that we are close to setting up our flowerbed for this year and that he ain’t seen nuttin yet. I think we’ve already made it a competition! I think I might have to relieve kim of her flowerbed duties now to ensure that we win.

Leave a Reply

