A Book Recommendation

Standard

I read a WONDERFUL book last week. You should all read it.

Stepping Heavenward (Dodo Press)

Its called Stepping Heavenward, by Elizabeth Prentiss. This novel was incredibly refreshing to read. It is the story, in journal entries, of a woman’s life from age 16, through courtship, marriage, and into adulthood. While the external circumstances of her life are portrayed, the main focus of the story is on her spiritual growth. The book is well-written, and presents truth very sweetly. I laughed, and cried, and saw a strange similarity to my own life and struggles. My Lord used this book, written by a woman about 200 years ago, to encourage and exhort me. I love that even though this sister in the faith died hundreds of years ago, I can still gain godly wisdom from her. Isn’t the way God orchestrated His body lovely?

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

