I finally finished something!

Standard

I’m really excited, because I finally finished a project! It seems like forever since I actually completed something. I started this almost a year ago, I think.

Its a granny square baby blanket. I actually started it before I was even pregnant, but I figured with so many friends having babies, I’d have someone to give it to if we didn’t use it. I made it in boy colors because I used yarn that I had leftover from another project, and those are the colors I had. It worked out great, because now I can use it for our coming boy baby. 🙂 The pattern is from this book:

50 Fashion and Home Projects (Family Circle Easy...)

I changed it a little – the colors, and I didn’t follow the placement diagram. And I used a different yarn. So basically all I used from the book was the pattern for the granny square and the edging. Funny memory about this book: My mother-in-law taught me to crochet one Christmas vacation when my husband and I were dating. That year, for Christmas, he gave me a bunch of crochet stuff – yarn, a set of hooks, and this book. He did his Christmas shopping on Christmas eve, with his dad and brothers, and I have this hilarious mental picture of this group of manly men in the yarn aisle of Hobby Lobby trying to pick out crochet stuff. It was a great gift! 🙂 Anyways, I really like the way the blanket turned out, and can’t wait to use it with our little one. Here’s a picture of it all laid out:

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

6 responses »

  1. Rachel, you did a beautiful work of art! We, too, can’t wait for you to use it! 🙂

  2. Rachel,
    You did a great job on your baby blanket! Don’t you love doing granny squares! Would’t it have been fun to watch Bret and the boys do their Christmas shopping in the yarn department…what a hoot.

  3. HAHAHA! bret, his brothers, dad and hobby lobby. . .gives me the chuckles!! anyway your blanket is super lovely and i’m sure br will love it!!

  4. Pingback: Ta-Daaa! « Willing Hands

Leave a Reply

