Hot Cross Buns

Standard

One of the Easter traditions that I want to start for our family is making and eating Hot Cross Buns on Good Friday. There are a lot of great things that I want to do once we have kids, but this is something that Bret and I can enjoy now. I liked making them. I think that having special food traditions helps to make holidays more special, and sets them off from normal days.

I used the recipe from The Bread Machine Cookbookby Donna Rathmell German. I LOVE my bread machine. I’ve been able to make all of our bread for the past several months, as well as fun things like pita bread, brioche for pain au chocolat and now, hot cross buns. For these rolls, you put the ingredients in the machine; it does all the kneading and rising for you; and you just form and bake the rolls. Wonderful! 🙂 Here’s the recipe:

1/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
3 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup milk
2 eggs
3 Tbs butter
1 1/2 tsp. yeast
3/4 cup raisins

Dump all the ingredients except the raisins (and the yeast) into the bread machine pan. Put the yeast in the yeast dispenser. Let it go through the dough cycle. Knead the raisins in by hand at the end of the dough cycle. Let the dough rest about 10 minutes. Divide dough and shape into 12 balls and place in a greased baking dish (I used a bar pan). Cover and let rise about 35 minutes or until doubled in bulk. Bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes.

Make a mixture of 1 cup confectioner’s sugar, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and 1/4 cup milk. After the buns are cool, drizzle all over tops of buns. Let set until the glaze is hardened. (You may want to set the buns on a baking rack over waxed paper for this step.) Then make a mixture of 1 cup confectioner’s sugar, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and 1 Tbs. milk; pipe or spoon this in the shape of a cross on the top of the buns.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

One response »

  1. I like your buns…
    I bet Bret likes your buns too…
    (double meaning IS implied)

    Okay, I just wanted to be silly! But seriously, I love the idea of making (especially baking) special things to mark certain holidays…it is going to be so fun to make things with little Baby Rogers…I can’t wait to see him/ya’ll!!

Leave a Reply

