Christ-centered Easter Celebrations II

Standard

I’m beginning to think that holidays are days for remembering, for considering, and for pondering whatever it is that we’re celebrating. It seems that without that, you loose the meaning of the holiday; it just becomes a day to get dressed up and eat a lot of good food. I don’t think those are bad things, but what’s the point if we don’t take time to consider the reason behind our celebrations? Why does Christmas matter if we don’t remember that the Eternal God became flesh and took the form of a servant? And why is Good Friday important if we don’t consider that Christ humbled Himself and become obedient to death on cross? And what makes Easter joyful if we don’t ponder that Jesus is raised from the dead and seated in glory with the Father? This is in line with the reasons that God gave to Israel for the feast days they were do observe – the days were to help them remember and teach the coming generations what God had done.

So, because of these thoughts, another thing that I have begun to do to help prepare my spirit for Easter is to re-read The Passion of Jesus Christ by John Piper. I’ve read this book before, but it was a while ago.  I’m praying that the Lord will use it to help me meditate on what Christ suffered and accomplished for me through his death and resurrection.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. Ooooo…good suggestion. I think we may pick this up at bedtime for our household. Thanks for the good idea!

  2. Also, the book has 50 chapters and there are a like 46 days in Lent, so if you planned ahead better than I do, you could read one chapter a day starting with Ash Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

