The Knitting Saga 2

Standard

So, I have finally finished the knitted alpaca hat for my husband. I really liked the alpaca yarn; it is super soft and nice to work with. I still do NOT like knitting. I have learned a lot about it from this whole adventure, but I definitely prefer crocheting. It seems more versatile, and harder to mess up. And, I broke my knitting needles finishing this hat, so it looks like its going to be a looong time before I try to knit again.

Anyways, I used the hat pattern from Greetings from Knit Cafe by Suzan Mischer. Its a very fun, colorful book, but not  practical, especially for a beginner like me. The hat pattern was simple, but there’s no explanation of stitches or techniques used in the book – I guess she assumes that you already know them.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

10 responses »

  1. Yea! I know you are glad that is over. You did a great job and Bret’s head will stay warm with alpaca on it… Now I am looking forward to seeing what you do with the rest of the alpaca yarn. Have MORE fun with that…
    Leigh

  2. Thanks, Leigh! I fully intend to CROCHET something beautiful and functional with the rest of the alpaca! 🙂

  3. I’m glad I stumbled across your blog. The hat looks great! Nicely done. I don’t know what kind of needles you used, but I know that Brittany needles can be replaced if they break. (It just takes a phone call or an e-mail to the company.) I think a couple other companies do this as well. Have fun with the rest of your alpaca, whatever you decide to do with it.

  4. Rachel: I have been checking in occasionally on your knitting trevails. When you described your problems, (which I have no comprehension of, but definitely sympathy) I was feeling badly about “forcing” you to accept a deal where you had to knit . But the beanie looks great, and you kept your end of the bargain. Besides, now every time Bret wears it, you will have a story to tell about mean ol’ Chuck.

  5. Oh, you don’t have to feel bad, I wasn’t at all upset about it, its just funny how totally inept I am about knitting. 🙂 I’m glad that Bret has a beanie that he can wear now. 🙂 And thanks for the yarn!

  6. Bret’s head is round. It’s a head born to bear the burden of a beanie cap (I’ve got skills at alliteration). However, he looks so unhappy. It reminds me of a kid who gets a piece of clothing that he despises as a Christmas gift and the mother forces him to put it on and he has to look ridiculous in front of everyone else. But, I know that Bret loves his stocking hat and that he is wearing it willingly. Good job.

  7. Billy, Bret has that unhappy look because he doesn’t like having pictures taken by himself. So, in a way, I am like that pushy mother, except I just made him take a pic he didn’t want, not wear something he despised. Its a little better, right?

  8. This is so characteristic of Bret. I’m glad you took this picture. I can’t count on two hands how many times Bret has verbalized his hatred for being in pictures. Of course, those verbalizations were more heated before he was a believer. But still…he grumbles when the cameras come out. Which is why it is only fitting that his little brother became a photographer.

    Bret, I plan on taking many individual portraits of you the next time I see you. It will be good for your sanctification.

  9. I can definitely share your knitting woes. My first knitting project was a hat too, and just so you know, hats are a project that are definitely easier if you’re crocheting than knitting. BUT, don’t lose heart! Knitting is fabulous, I prefer it to crocheting now. Though casting on is much more difficult (IMHO), I don’t get a cramp in my hand like I did while crocheting.

    As far as the hat, were you using double pointed needles? I have to read your other posts now – I’m curious to find out how you managed to break the needles at the end 😉

    The hat looks great, BTW.

Leave a Reply

